‘Vetkoek’ a gluten free doughy delight

DSC_2227 copy

There seems to be a myth that gluten free cooking is complicated and that you need to use at least 3 different types of flours in your baking. I used to think that, but I want to say I have not found this to be true. I have made quite a few recipes and just substituted the normal wheat plain/self raising flour with Gluten Free Plain/All purpose or Gluten Free Self Raising Flour. I’ve had family and friends comment that they can’t believe a recipe I have made is ‘gluten-free’ as it tastes almost like the original recipe.

The two flour brands I have always used since becoming gluten intolerant are Orgran Gluten Free Flour and White Wings Gluten Free Flour 

The following recipe is an example of substituting normal wheat flour for Gluten Free Flour. This was my very first attempt at making this traditional Afrikaner pastry recipe and I am very happy with the way it turned out and perhaps you will find this a super easy recipe as I did.

This recipe is traditionally served spread with jam or served with a curry mince and both are equally delightful.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (500 ml) Orgran Gluten Free Self Raising flour
  • ½ t (2 ml) salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 cup (250 ml) milk
  • 2 eggs
  • Enough oil for deep-frying (should be 12 cm deep)

Method

  1. Sift flour and salt together
  2. Whisk egg, milk and sugar
  3. Make a well in the dry ingredients, add milk and egg mixture and mix to very soft dough, until a smooth consistency. You could add more milk if necessary. (I didnt need to add any more milk)
  4. Heat the oil to between 180 °C and 190°C.
  5. Ladle level spoonfuls of batter into the hot oil (12 cm deep) and fry until brown on both sides, before removing from oil.
  6. Use towel paper to absorb the excess oil.

Recipe adapted from http://rainbowcooking.co.nz/recipes/quick-vetkoek

DSC_2218 copy

Sift flour and salt

DSC_2221 copy

Whisk milk, eggs and sugar

DSC_2222 copy

Whisk milk mix into flour mix until smooth

