Gluten Free Raspberry Scone

DSC_2341 copy
My challenge was to find and make a recipe that didn’t need eggs. Not because I can’t eat eggs, but simply because we had run out and I wanted to make something that didn’t require the use of eggs. After a surprisingly short search on the web, (I have my favorite go to places for recipe inspiration) I came across this Donna Hay recipe. The original recipe used normal self-raising flour, but you can easily substitute gluten-free self-raising flour for this recipe. It also used almonds, but as I didn’t have any almonds, I omitted them this time.
For a twist on the modern scone, this tastes great with that afternoon coffee 🙂
Raspberry Scones
  • 1 ½ cups Gluten Free self-raising flour, sifted* see note
  • ½ cup (110g) caster (superfine) sugar
  • 40g cold butter, chopped
  • ¾ cup (120g) frozen raspberries
  • 2 teaspoons caster (superfine) sugar, extra
  • ½ cup (125ml) milk, plus extra, for brushing
  • 1 tablespoon flaked almonds (optional)
  • icing (confectioner’s) sugar, for dusting
2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Raspberry Scone

Comments are closed.