Setting goals not resolutions

smart goal setting concept

At the beginning of each year, you or someone you know has probably started the year  with a resolution – something you want to do/improve that year. A quick look at Wiki tells you that a resolution – a common tradition found in the  Western Hemisphere is a promise you make to yourself. I know last year, 1st day of 2013, I started by saying I wanted to walk to work every day. That only lasted a month!

This year I’ve changed it slightly. This year I’m setting goals for myself. A goal more specifically is a desired result you want to see achieved by a set date by planning and committing to it.

On the first of January 2014 I wrote down the goals I want to achieve and throughout the year I can keep referring to it and how well I am going.

In a snapshot – these are some of the goals I have set for myself for 2014

  • I would like to improve my fitness. I found an exercise routine that I would like to work at and improve on over the coming year
  • I would like to complete my study in Adv. Diploma of Nutritional Medicine ahead of schedule, reducing the total time taken from 4 years to less
  • I would like to spend more time taking time out for myself – having regular massages

setting-goals

What is something you would like to achieve this year? That dream job you have always wanted, starting a course/degree that you have wanted to do for a long time but never got around to it, going on that holiday you keep dreaming about…

I know you can achieve it because you are worth it!

