Fruits of my labor

_DSC3275 copy

Fresh Summer Fruit

I’ve always had an interest in photography. I’ve never described myself as anything more than someone who enjoys taking photographs. Even just the thought of being an amateur photographer seemed like a title I wasn’t worthy of. But secretly I would always hope that I could take images that I would look at and go wow, did I actually produce that! As long as I was happy with them, then that was a start.

One of the things I wanted to do more of this year was photography. I also work full time, study part time, and now added to my growing list of goals for this year was my goal to do more regular blogging and hopefully more photography.

My ever patient partner Piet, who is a creative photographer, has over the last few years patiently tried to show me more about taking photographs, composition, rule of thirds and also a little bit of post production work.

Last night we decided to make the short trip to a popular viewing point in Brisbane. I particularly wanted to go there as, firstly I had never been there before in the 3 years I had lived in Brisbane and secondly, from photos I had seen, it seemed like a good place to visit to take some images.

There were rain/storm clouds approaching which would make it rather interesting if we got caught in the middle of a downpour or thunderstorm. We decided to head out anyway.

When we arrived, the sun setting was a magnificent orange burst disappearing over the horizon. We walked along the rivers edge, stopping at various points  so I could take some photos. There was some lightning around but alas I didn’t succeed in getting any lightning images.  Getting some cracking images of lightning is on my photo/bucket list of things I want to achieve.

As the next day was supposed to reach temp’s of 40 deg C, I thought it would be a great time to spend the day inside, sitting in the cool comfort of air conditioning, sorting through the photos I had taken and seeing what I could work on. By the way we reached 38 deg C while other places around Queensland reached record temps of over 40 deg C!

Below are a selection of my favorite images I took. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

And if you were wondering about the image of the bowl of fruit at the top of this post, aside it from being a reference to my title, it was a refreshing reward for my work today that, yes I’m secretly proud of.

_DSC3171 copy

_DSC3152 copy

_DSC3185 copy

3232

3235

These images are copyright (c) of Life, Love, and Dreams.

2 thoughts on “Fruits of my labor

Comments are closed.