Blogger of Repute – This is me

559144_10151015377669872_297041777_n

For today’s task on Zero to Hero we were prompted to write about our reputation based on the following;

Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

I believe over the years, well from quite a young age I developed a reputation of being the quiet one, shy one, doesn’t talk much etc. Some people found it hard to handle. At times I was told I was rude, snobbish and I should talk more!

It’s only been in recent years that I realized I am what you would call an introvert. I found a definition of Introvert recently that seemed to describe me so well, taken from the book Introvert Power by Laurie Helgoe

So, being an introvert does not mean you’re antisocial, asocial, or socially inept. It does mean that you are oriented to ideas—whether those ideas involve you with people or not. It means that you prefer spacious interactions with fewer people. And it means that, when you converse, you are more interested in sharing ideas than in talking about people and what they’re doing. In a conversation with someone sharing gossip, the introvert’s eyes glaze over and his brow furrows as he tries to comprehend how this conversation could interest anyone. This is not because the introvert is morally superior—he just doesn’t get it.

Only recently have I started to except that this is who I am! So is it accurate? – if your definition of an introvert is someone who is unsociable and withdrawn then no. If your definition of an introvert is someone who will socialize but on a lesser scale than others and needs her time to recharge and enjoys her alone time then yes! If you hang around long enough you will start to find out more about me.

What do I think about it? Now I know what the true definition of introvert is I am more comfortable with being me. Whereas before there was this pressure to conform to societal standards even though it went against who I was.

This is me – This is who I am by Vanessa Amorosi – a favorite song of mine

