Easy Coconut Rice Pudding

Coconut Rice Pudding

Coconut Rice Pudding

There is nothing like procrastinating on study that needs to be done and finding something to bake!

It has been a few years since I’ve made rice pudding. I saw a post the other day for coconut rice pudding and thought to myself I have to try making that.

So I was hunting around for a good recipe and remembered I had a Thai cook book. This recipe is based on what I found – they used a clay pot cooking it in the oven for 1hr 45mins.

I didn’t have a clay pot, I did have rice cooker which we have used quite a bit but thought a good saucepan would work best as you have more control.

This can be eaten for breakfast or a mid day snack or as a dessert or any time really! It can be eaten cold or heated through.

My partner stated it was the best rice pudding he had eaten. If you make it I would love to know what you think.

Ingredients

100 g short grain rice (the only rice we had in the cupboard was Jasmine Rice from an Asian grocer and I thought that worked really well)

3 tbls sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4-1/2 tsp cinnamon powder

Either 300 ml milk of your choice and 400ml coconut milk

OR

400ml  milk of your choice and 300ml coconut cream  (this gives it an extra richness)

Method

Add all ingredients to a saucepan. Stir to combine ingredients

Place on stove top on high heat and stir continuously until sugar has dissolved and mixture is at boiling point

Reduce to simmer – the lowest point on your stove

Allow to simmer for approx 20 mins stirring occasionally until liquid has almost evaporated

Remove from heat, allow to cool. Mixture will continue to thicken

Serve with fruit of your choice such as banana or mango

Recipe adapted from “The Ultimate Thai and Asian Cookbook”

