Listen to your body

Recently I have felt more sluggish, lacking in energy and feeling like I was on the verge of getting a cold/virus. Perhaps it’s partly stress due to the combination of work and study but I also believe it has something to do with the food I was eating recently.

I will rewind a little bit. About Aug/Sept last year (2013) I came across the Paleo Diet/Lifestyle. It’s more of a lifestyle than a diet. If you are looking for a quick fix way to lose weight than you will find this probably won’t work for you initially. If you are looking at changing your eating habits long term than I believe this is the best way.

In a nutshell the Paleo Diet/Lifestyle removes ALL grains, dairy, processed foods and sugars and legumes. You eat fresh fruit, vegetables, meat, seafood, seeds/nuts and healthy oils. It’s not a high protein diet, it’s simply a healthy way of eating. There are some hard core Paleo dieters out there who say you shouldn’t eat this or that. Ignore them and find what works for you using the above as a baseline. Once you start listening to your body you will soon find out what it likes or doesn’t like.

Since I started Paleo I have felt healthier and more energetic and my body was definitely enjoying the healthy food and fruit for snacks instead of reaching for a chocolate bar to get me through the afternoon.

For the last few weeks I had lapsed on this diet and had started having a little bit more gluten free bread, pasta and chocolate, WOW, about every day around 1pm-2pm I was getting chocolate cravings. After a few weeks I realized what was happening, I was feeding my body more processed crap and as I wasn’t getting the nutrients I was starting to feel sluggish, flat, no energy and even depressed.

This week I have decided that I will get back on track. This morning my partner and I enjoyed a lovely Sunday Morning Breakfast at a recently opened Paleo Cafe less than 10 mins from where we live.

This is what we had

1604935_10152217362324872_2110756306_n

Smoked Salmon and Red Onion Omelette (bacon and sausage were from my partners Caveman Breakfast)

1656219_10152217362579872_1425880966_n

Cavemans Breakfast

1798536_10152217362149872_447470690_n

Raspberries, Pineapple and Coconut Water Juice

If you would like more reading on the Paleo Lifestyle I recommend the following books

  • Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo
  • Optimum Health the Paleo Way by Claire Yates

As I finish off this blog whilst enjoying a nice coffee with Coconut Milk, I will leave you with this thought – if you are feeling sluggish/flat/lacking energy and even slightly depressed, that is probably your body’s way of trying to tell you that you are not receiving the  proper nutrients and I would recommend re-evaluating your diet.

